Idiocy

IdiocyI’ve realised something about myself over the past few weeks.

I can be a bit of an idiot sometimes. Really, I can.

I wrote in January that my goal was to not do any pushing or pressing under load so as to help my shoulder heal. I failed. How hard can it be to stop doing something? Turns out that this can be quite hard, especially if you’re a bit of an idiot when you’re around kettlebells. You see what would happen is this, I’d lay off for a couple of days and I’d feel a bit better, so I’d try something out, like push ups or lifting a light bell, to see if I could do it without pain. Turns out I couldn’t. Then I’d have another couple of days of nagging pain in my shoulder along with despair of ever getting over this. Then I’d feel a little bit better and the cycle would start again. You see. Idiot.

You’d think I’d learn from the first time round.

No, it took me several weeks to get this, and to get the fact that I can’t be trusted around kettlebells. I just get excited around them. They look so inviting and that they want to be lifted. Sigh.

As well as the ongoing shoulder issue, I hurt my lower back in January as well, and that took a couple of weeks to clear up. I did a session of two handed swings with my 24Kg kettlebell. Finished the session and felt really good. I then cycled to work and I think this is where the damage was done. After the swings my spine was all nice and flexible and warmed up, I then get on a bike and spend close to forty minutes bent over. It wasn’t until after I got off the bike that I started to notice any pain.

So with my shoulder and my back, I got to February feeling pretty discouraged about the whole thing. So for the first couple of weeks in February I backed off a lot. This was a bit of a step for me. I really love my training time, but I had to take a more long term view. Did I want to train now with an injury, or do I want to be able to train without injury for the years to come.

Last week I started ramping things up again. My back felt better, but my shoulder was still a problem. At the beginning of last week I tried some turkish get ups. They are an awesome shoulder exercise and there are many testimonies of people using them to rehab their shoulder. You basically lie on the floor with the bell in one hand held above you with your arm straight, your other arm on the floor, you then roll on to your free elbow and then get yourself into a standing position, all the while holding the kettlebell vertically above you. When my right shoulder (the injured one), was the one holding the bell, all was good, but when my right shoulder was the one supporting me as I ‘got up’, then I’d experience pain and this would aggravate it, setting me back again. Very disappointing and frustrating. I guess I’d invested a lot of hope in rehab exercises only to find I’m not ready. So anyway, laid off working out again for the rest of the week and started again this week.

This week, I’ve been doing half get ups, where I go from the start position to the sitting position and back down again, this doesn’t put my right shoulder under any stress. I’ve also found an exercise that really makes my shoulder feel good. Resistance band pull aparts. Start with your hands above your head, arms straight holding a resistance band, and keeping your arms straight pull your hands apart behind your head. These really help the scapula rotate round (which I believe it should) and really feels like it’s opening things up. So I’ve been doing those this week and my shoulder feels really good. At the time of writing this there is no pain and I feel encouraged and like things have turned a bit of a corner. Hurrah! Hopefully I’ll be able to start lifting with it again soon. I’m not sure how to test that out though, but one thing’s for certain, I’m not planning on being an idiot with it.

Leave a Reply

Nashville Kettlebell

A Christian viewpoint on diet and exercise

ORIGINAL Strength

You were made to move.

PaleoHikerMD

REAL FOOD, REAL HEALTH, REAL ADVENTURE, REAL FAMILY

Dr. Malcolm Kendrick

Scottish Doctor, author, speaker, sceptic

Intoxicated On Life

Pursuing a Healthy Home Life

Thor Falk

Fitness is a journey, not a goal...

Gary Taubes

Author of The Case Against Sugar, Why We Get Fat and Good Calories, Bad Calories

Mark's Daily Apple

Serving up health and fitness insights (daily, of course) with a side of irreverence.

Zoë Harcombe

A Christian viewpoint on diet and exercise

http://eatingacademy.com/

A Christian viewpoint on diet and exercise

Fat Head

Blog site for the comedy-documentary Fat Head

Tess Hunt RKC

BJJ, Traveling, and Life

