An introduction

Hello there!

My name is John East.

I’m a Christian.

I’m also on a journey.

About eighteen months ago now I realised I was approaching forty (gasp!) and that I didn’t like what I saw in the mirror. For as long as I can remember I’d always been overweight, I may have been able to lose a bit now and then but in the end it came back on. At the tail end of thirty eight my waist line was the largest it had ever been and I realised I had to do something. So I did what most people do and joined a gym and started dieting. To begin with everything went well, but having a full time job (I write software for the TV broadcasting industry) meant my gym membership was quite expensive so I started looking round for cheaper and more effective ways of working out. I also wanted to find a better way of eating than just the regular “I’m on a diet” food. So far it’s been an interesting journey and I’ve learnt some interesting things.

This blog is aimed at me. It’s where I can put my thoughts, it’s where I can review what I’ve learnt and it’s where I can track my progress. It’s also a place where I can put my own Christian viewpoint on how we should be looking after our physical bodies. If you find it interesting then please feel free to comment and follow. I’d love it if you did, but as I say, this blog is for me so I apologise if at times it’s self indulgent.

Things I’m interested in that might make it into the blog: Kettlebells, Fasting, Primal/Neolithic diets, Fasting and worship.

What’s with the title of the blog Fast Free and Strong? I believe it’s how God made us to be; I believe we are called to fast as well as be fast (more on this in a later post); I believe we are made to be free, the diet and health food industry, as far as I can tell, has done a pretty good job at chaining people up and making them feel like failures, this is not God’s plan; and I also believe we are meant to be strong, physically as well as spiritually.

So that’s me. Hello.

Leave a Reply

Nashville Kettlebell

A Christian viewpoint on diet and exercise

ORIGINAL Strength

You were made to move.

PaleoHikerMD

REAL FOOD, REAL HEALTH, REAL ADVENTURE, REAL FAMILY

Dr. Malcolm Kendrick

Scottish Doctor, author, speaker, sceptic

Intoxicated On Life

Pursuing a Healthy Home Life

Thor Falk

Fitness is a journey, not a goal...

Gary Taubes

Author of The Case Against Sugar, Why We Get Fat and Good Calories, Bad Calories

Mark's Daily Apple

Serving up health and fitness insights (daily, of course) with a side of irreverence.

Zoë Harcombe

A Christian viewpoint on diet and exercise

http://eatingacademy.com/

A Christian viewpoint on diet and exercise

Fat Head

Blog site for the comedy-documentary Fat Head

Tess Hunt RKC

BJJ, Traveling, and Life

